Susanne Kress  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 15:43
Member (2010)
Spanish to German
+ ...
Oct 7, 2010

Hello everyone,
I am about to start my "career" as a freelancer, I have got my brandnew iMac (Snow Leopard), Parallels, Windows XP, Trados 2009 SP3, and Open Office 3.2 for Windows. Do I necessarily have to buy MS Office 2010 (or get 2007 anywhere else) to make Trados work, or is Open Office enough.
I would really appreciate any help in this matter.
Thanks for all comments.

Susanne Kress

Aude Sylvain
Aude Sylvain  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
none of them is needed to work with Studio Oct 8, 2010

Hi Susanne,

If you are actually speaking about Trados Studio, this is a standalone app, meaning you do not need to have any office suite installed.
Studio will be able to deal with Office documents (.doc, .docx etc.) and generate target texts in the same format regardless of whether Office is installed or not on your computer.

The only drawback if you do not have MS Office 2007 / 2010, as far as I know, is that you won't be able to use the review/real-preview fe
... See more
Hi Susanne,

If you are actually speaking about Trados Studio, this is a standalone app, meaning you do not need to have any office suite installed.
Studio will be able to deal with Office documents (.doc, .docx etc.) and generate target texts in the same format regardless of whether Office is installed or not on your computer.

The only drawback if you do not have MS Office 2007 / 2010, as far as I know, is that you won't be able to use the review/real-preview feature of Trados.
You may wish to download a trial version of Office and see if you really need that feature.