OSX Lion and parallels with Win 7 pro - do I need antivirus?
Thread poster: achisholm
achisholm
achisholm
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:39
Italian to English
+ ...
Sep 15, 2011

Hi, I'm relatively new to using a Mac as my own computer. I had one supplied and administered by the company I worked for.

I have installed Parallels 7 and Windows 7 Professional so that I can run Trados etc. Do I also need to install antivirus software in the windows virtual machine or am I covered by the mac antivirus software I have installed and running on the machine anyway (I am using Sophos at the moment)?

All suggestions and explanations very welcome.

Sergei Tumanov
Sergei Tumanov  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:39
English to Russian
+ ...
better safe than sorry Sep 16, 2011

I have an antivirus software installed on my virtual machine.
Even if I don´t surf the web using windows programms, there is no guarantee that files received for translation in the windows environment are not infected.

younggilee
younggilee
Local time: 14:39
English to Korean
+ ...
Protect one or both? Sep 16, 2011

There is anti-virus software available for OSX system. If you really want to protect your computer and its data against any network attack, you should install updated anti-virus software to your parallel system, as well as OSX system.
It doesn't make sense that your parallel system is protected, but not the main operating system? Why don't you consider setting up Windows 7 via Boot Camp? From my personal experience, it does perform much better than parallel method.

achisholm
achisholm
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:39
Italian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I have Sophos installed on the Mac Sep 16, 2011

I do have an antivirus package installed on the Mac system.
My question as in relation to the Windows 7 virtual machine running via parallels - since this technically runs "inside" the mac system anyway.