Thread poster: Meerburg TS
Meerburg TS
Meerburg TS  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Dutch to English
+ ...
Jan 26, 2012

Hello everybody!

I am fairly new in the translation business and still learning.
Currently I am just using my old PC laptop (which my fiancé calls "the helicopter" due to the noise it makes) and Microsoft Office for the translation. I translate from Spanish, French and Dutch into English. I may eventually translate into Dutch as well.

I am ready to buy myself a new laptop and some programs that wil
... See more
Hello everybody!

I am fairly new in the translation business and still learning.
Currently I am just using my old PC laptop (which my fiancé calls "the helicopter" due to the noise it makes) and Microsoft Office for the translation. I translate from Spanish, French and Dutch into English. I may eventually translate into Dutch as well.

I am ready to buy myself a new laptop and some programs that will help me advance in my trade. Also, I want to use the new laptop for editing graphics and drawings (I'm an artist as well) and get Photoshop.

I am a bit bewildered by the amount of translation programs out there and would love to get some feedback by fellow translators about them.

Also, I would like to know whether you prefer Macs or PCs for translation.

Thanks in advance for your help!

All the best,

Nikola
Collapse

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 11:45
Spanish to English
+ ...
Get both Jan 27, 2012

Meerburg TS wrote:

I am ready to buy myself a new laptop and some programs that will help me advance in my trade. Also, I want to use the new laptop for editing graphics and drawings (I'm an artist as well) ...

Also, I would like to know whether you prefer Macs or PCs for translation.

Althought stated as fact, these are only my opinions, based on my experience of ease-of-use and compat¡bility issues, which I'm not interested in justifying or debating.
So here goes: