Ivano Conte  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 07:21
English to Italian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Apr 17, 2013

Hi there!

I was looking for a computer that I can carry with me when I am not at home.
So I did a research and I find: Notebooks and Netbooks.

First question: What's the difference?
In translation business, what is more useful?

Second question: can you suggest me any notebook/netbook?
I am a real newbie in these kind of things and, in my opinion, the most important thing should be a good battery, so I would not risk to remain without powe
... See more
Hi there!

I was looking for a computer that I can carry with me when I am not at home.

Second question: can you suggest me any notebook/netbook?
I am a real newbie in these kind of things and, in my opinion, the most important thing should be a good battery, so I would not risk to remain without power during the day. Am i right? Or does it need something more?

Unfortunately I am a poor (and young) translator, too. So I have (with your help, I hope) to find something cheap.

I also use Trados Studio 2011 and MultiTerm, in case you need this information for the suggestions.

Thanks to all!

IC
Collapse

Inna Borymova
Inna Borymova  Identity Verified
Kyrgyzstan
Member (2013)
English to Russian
+ ...
Netbook Apr 17, 2013

I've used notebook for many years but they are too heavy to always carry with me and the battery is weak. With a netbook one can work up to 10 hours. Now I realize that for my current projects netbook is not powerful enough and I am tired of its small screen. So I again got a large notebook but I use netbook on the go. So if you have a "normal" computer at home it's better to have a netbook because that large staff is really heavy and inconvenient to carry

[Edited at 2013-04-17 08:18 GMT]

Ivano Conte
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
SITE LOCALIZER
Suggestion Apr 17, 2013

Can you suggest me a netbook?

Rolf Keller
Rolf Keller
Germany
English to German