Thread poster: Susana Galilea
Susana Galilea
Susana Galilea  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:24
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 18, 2005

I don't own a TV and I am not planning on getting one, but every now and then I find myself craving the convenience of a good movie at home. My PC includes a DVD player, and I wanted to confirm whether it would be safe to view movies on DVD via my computer. Since my livelihood depends on my PC, I want to avoid any use that could harm or overtax the system in any way. I am not technically savvy, and will appreciate any feedback from those of you in the know.

Many thanks in advance... See more
I don't own a TV and I am not planning on getting one, but every now and then I find myself craving the convenience of a good movie at home. My PC includes a DVD player, and I wanted to confirm whether it would be safe to view movies on DVD via my computer. Since my livelihood depends on my PC, I want to avoid any use that could harm or overtax the system in any way. I am not technically savvy, and will appreciate any feedback from those of you in the know.

Many thanks in advance

Susana Galilea
Accredited Translator EN-ES
[email protected]
www.accentonspanish.com

[Edited at 2005-03-18 19:54]
Collapse

Elodie Rousseau
Elodie Rousseau
Mexico
Local time: 09:24
English to French
No problem, I think Mar 18, 2005

Susana,

I have been using my PC to watch DVDs for two years now and didn't have any problems. Although I have a TV, for a while I didn't have a multiregion DVD player (I'm French but living in Mexico), so I watched French DVDs on my laptop, which even has a remote control, seating on my sofa and feeling like home! Then I would put it back to my desk and work as usual.
So I would say you really don't have to worry.

Elodie

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 18:24
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Of course you can Mar 18, 2005