why do computers heat up faster during cold or winter period
Thread poster: Brandis (X)
Brandis (X)
Brandis (X)
Local time: 02:51
English to German
+ ...
Sep 24, 2006

HI! I have been observing this phenomenon for a few years. I hear more heated stories or crashes during the winter then in the summer, where one would assume and accept external heated up environment during the summer could be one reason, but the crashing frequency is higher durng the winter. Does any body know to explain Best Brandis

Viktoria Gimbe
Viktoria Gimbe  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 20:51
English to French
+ ...
The only logical explanation I have Sep 24, 2006

This goes also for A/C and other appliances/tools/etc.

When it's colder, the cooling components need to cool more than usual - but they do have a limit (there is a difference between having just one fan in your PC and having four fans). Most of the time, when a machine works harder, it heats up more. All components have an ideal temperature range and when you get below that temperature range, the capacity at which your machine functions also changes. For example, regular AA batterie
... See more
This goes also for A/C and other appliances/tools/etc.

When it's colder, the cooling components need to cool more than usual - but they do have a limit (there is a difference between having just one fan in your PC and having four fans). Most of the time, when a machine works harder, it heats up more. All components have an ideal temperature range and when you get below that temperature range, the capacity at which your machine functions also changes. For example, regular AA batteries discharge faster in an iPod when you go outside in winter than when you stay inside.

Also, if because of heating, your house is warmer during the winter, maybe the temp sensor in your computer senses more heat than in summer and tries to adjust the cooling mechanism - which requires more resources, hence the little problems you are experiencing.