Thread poster: Ian Stephenson
Ian Stephenson
Ian Stephenson
Local time: 11:46
French to English
+ ...
May 28, 2020

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting in the forum so I apologise if my question has already been answered, I was unable to find it in the forums.

I have several questions regarding the "best practises" for pitching a literature translation to a publisher (this is my first time do it via the "traditional method", i.e. not via personal contacts. I have already confirmed that the rights for an English translation of the book in question are available, so I am now
... See more
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting in the forum so I apologise if my question has already been answered, I was unable to find it in the forums.

I have several questions regarding the "best practises" for pitching a literature translation to a publisher (this is my first time do it via the "traditional method", i.e. not via personal contacts. I have already confirmed that the rights for an English translation of the book in question are available, so I am now preparing a sample).

1) When pitching the translation to a potential publisher, is it generally standard to send the sample immediately with the first email or do publishers appreciate something along the lines of "may I send you a sample I have prepared" after making the initial pitch? What is your general method at this stage?

2) How large is an acceptable sample? 10 A4 pages, more, fewer? Or is a proportional sample better (for example 5 or 10% of the book)?

3) Is it acceptable to send a sample from somewhere in the middle of the book in order to give a better picture of the text as a whole or is it standard to send a sample that begins from page 1 of the source text?

Many thanks in advance for any help that can be provided.
Collapse

Hafsa
Hafsa
Arabic to English
+ ...
Interested in the topic May 28, 2020