Real-life persons maligned in classic fiction?
Thread poster: M_S (X)
M_S (X)
M_S (X)
English to Russian
Sep 17, 2005

I'm a Russian feature writer who is researching a feature on the most maligned prototypes of classic literature characters (personages). Because this is a multinational message board, I hope to get examples from different national literatures.

So, the question is this: are you aware of famous villains from literary fiction who had real-life prototypes who were not villains or at least not-so-villainous? An example: composer Antonio Salieri, in all likelihood, did NOT kill Mozart,
... See more
I'm a Russian feature writer who is researching a feature on the most maligned prototypes of classic literature characters (personages). Because this is a multinational message board, I hope to get examples from different national literatures.

So, the question is this: are you aware of famous villains from literary fiction who had real-life prototypes who were not villains or at least not-so-villainous? An example: composer Antonio Salieri, in all likelihood, did NOT kill Mozart, although his reputation as a murderer was perpetuated by Russian writer Pushkin.

Examples from any time period are welcome.

PS: although I'm looking for fiction villains who are famous, the prototype does not have to be a famous real-life person, like Salieri. There are examples when a writer was settling the scores with a person who was not a public figure or anything like this -- just a more or less ordinary person whom the writer happened to dislike.

Thanks to all in advance!

PPS: Although this posting is not related to translating, I hope the moderator will let it stay.

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2005-09-17 10:38]
Collapse

Aurora Humarán (X)
Aurora Humarán (X)  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 23:27
English to Spanish
+ ...
Hola Sep 17, 2005

M_S wrote:

PPS: Although this posting is not related to translating, I hope the moderator will let it stay.