Thread poster: Luís Coutinho
Luís Coutinho
Luís Coutinho
Local time: 11:49
Portuguese
+ ...
Nov 11, 2005

Dear colleagues,

I have two questions not directly related to the translation of any term.

Here are my questions:

1- Is there any Internet site from which I can download electronic invoices for translation services (invoices that I can send to foreign customers as well, both within the European Union and outside)?
2- I am a professional translator with several years of experience in technical areas but I would like to start a career as a literary tran
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I have two questions not directly related to the translation of any term.

Here are my questions:

1- Is there any Internet site from which I can download electronic invoices for translation services (invoices that I can send to foreign customers as well, both within the European Union and outside)?
2- I am a professional translator with several years of experience in technical areas but I would like to start a career as a literary translator (yeah… I made a vowel of poverty…). I would like to ask all colleagues with experience in this specific field for their good advice on this subject. ANY advice is more than welcome, but I would be specially interested in gathering information on the best ways to get the customers who usually contract this kind of services, who/which institutions to contact, which editors are more inclined to contracting freelance/in-house literary translators, literary translators’ associations (if there are any), authors’ associations, etc. I would greatly appreciate also all information on bibliographical material on the subject of literary translation.

TO THE DUTCH COLLEAGUES

Since I am a “buitenlander” recently established in your country, I would like to kindly ask you for all important information concerning the activity of freelance translator in the Netherlands: