Looking for literary translation work - where and how?
Thread poster: Emil Tubinshlak
Emil Tubinshlak
Emil Tubinshlak  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 05:30
Russian to English
+ ...
Oct 3, 2002

I am a Russian/Hebrew into English translator. Even though I have had to do just about everything short of washing windows, my forte is translation of literature and poetry. I have tried to contact publishing houses, but to no avail. Does anyone have any ideas, or experience, how to go about finding agencies that deal with literary translations, and actually getting their attention?

jmf (X)
jmf (X)  Identity Verified
Spanish to English
+ ...
lit trans work Oct 3, 2002

You may want to consider contacting large art museums that have art exhibits (related to your target languages). I have translated articles and essays for museums that they used for exhibits and museum catalogs.

Eva Blanar
Eva Blanar  Identity Verified
Hungary
Local time: 14:30
English to Hungarian
+ ...
What if you pick an interesting book on your own? Oct 4, 2002

As a matter of fact, I only wrote a couple of emails to publishers and after a few months (when they had some really difficult book to translate) they remembered me and gave me the assignment (so I was lucky). But why don\'t you try to pick a book according to your taste / local knowledge etc. and translate one or two chapters to show your skills? Then, you\'ll have something to show them - at any rate, I\'ll cross my fingers for you.

[ This Message was edited by: on 2002-
... See more
As a matter of fact, I only wrote a couple of emails to publishers and after a few months (when they had some really difficult book to translate) they remembered me and gave me the assignment (so I was lucky). But why don\'t you try to pick a book according to your taste / local knowledge etc. and translate one or two chapters to show your skills? Then, you\'ll have something to show them - at any rate, I\'ll cross my fingers for you.