Thread poster: Cristina Pulido-Vielma
Cristina Pulido-Vielma
Cristina Pulido-Vielma  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 12:21
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 14, 2006

To those who do this professionaly (I am only a beginner) Would this be a proper translation of the poem Amor77?

Y después de hacer todo lo que hacen se levantan, se bañan, se entalcan, se perfuman, se visten, y así progresivamente van volviendo a ser lo que no son.

... See more
To those who do this professionaly (I am only a beginner) Would this be a proper translation of the poem Amor77?

Y después de hacer todo lo que hacen se levantan, se bañan, se entalcan, se perfuman, se visten, y así progresivamente van volviendo a ser lo que no son.

Feel free to reply to me if it's considered "off-topic".

Chuss
Collapse

Roomy Naqvy
Roomy Naqvy  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 21:51
English to Hindi
+ ...
Translating Cortazar Dec 14, 2006

I'm not a Cortazar expert...though I have read him and he's a great writer. I am sure our colleagues would tell you what they think but I would like to state here, that unless, you make a patently wrong translation, there isn't much that could be wrong.

Roomy

Wenjer Leuschel (X)
Wenjer Leuschel (X)  Identity Verified
Taiwan
Local time: 00:21
English to Chinese
+ ...
Not too bad at all Dec 14, 2006

chuss wrote:

¡Hóla, chuss!

1. "después de hacer todo lo que hacen " could be "after doing all what they do."

2. "así progresivamente van volviendo a ser lo que no son" could be "thus they gradually return to becoming what they are not."

Welcome and do stay. You'll find some more of those guys who are already what they aren't round here, at times.

Saludos,
Wenjer

[Edited at 2006-12-14 01:45]

Helen Filippou
Helen Filippou
English to Spanish
+ ...
Just a change or two Dec 14, 2006

"Se levantan" means "they get out of bed". The rest is fine.

Suerte
Helen

Cristina Pulido-Vielma
Canada
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Helen, Wenjer Dec 14, 2006