Brahms text issues: German to English
Thread poster: Sonya Gerisch
Sonya Gerisch
Sonya Gerisch  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:50
German to English
Mar 12, 2008

Hello,
I am a German to English translator, but I normally deal with legal and technical text. I also sing in a choir that is performing Ein Deutsches Requiem by Brahms. The conductor has asked me about a couple of issues with the text, but it involves old German text as it was composed in 1861, so I am hoping a literary translator may be able to help. The issues are:

1) Movement II: the phrase "Siehe, ein Ackermann wartet auf die koestliche Frucht der Erde und ist geduldig d
... See more
Hello,
I am a German to English translator, but I normally deal with legal and technical text. I also sing in a choir that is performing Ein Deutsches Requiem by Brahms. The conductor has asked me about a couple of issues with the text, but it involves old German text as it was composed in 1861, so I am hoping a literary translator may be able to help. The issues are:

1) Movement II: the phrase "Siehe, ein Ackermann wartet auf die koestliche Frucht der Erde und ist geduldig darueber, bis er empfahe den Morgenregen und Abendregen." The particular word in question is "empfahe." I am guessing this is some old form of "empfangen"? From what I have found it might have something to do with Luther's translation of the bible.

2) Movement VI: "Denn wir haben hie keine bleibende Statt" The word in question is "hie." I can only find it with "hie und da" in my dictionaries, but I guess the meaning of "hier" still applies. Would it still be pronounced as written (Hie)?

I would appreciate any light someone could shed on this issue.
Collapse

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 15:50
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Bible texts Mar 12, 2008

Here is the source:
http://de.wikisource.org/wiki/Ein_deutsches_Requiem
Empfahe = empfange
hie = hier pronounced hee

Regards
Heinrich

Jim Tucker (X)