Ivana Friis Søndergaard
Ivana Friis Søndergaard
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:51
Member (2008)
English to Danish
+ ...
Jun 9, 2008

I have been using Metatexis for a while now (my first CAT tool, I am a newbie) and I m very happy with it.

Recently a client asked to have the uncleaned files and TM for a translation. No problem, I thought. I had awful trouble! First of all, the unclean file was enourmous, I have to give up emailing it and ended up uploading it to yousendit (great service btw) so the client could fetch it himself. I realised that the file was so large bacuse of the TM - because when I wanted to ex
... See more
I have been using Metatexis for a while now (my first CAT tool, I am a newbie) and I m very happy with it.

Recently a client asked to have the uncleaned files and TM for a translation. No problem, I thought. I had awful trouble! First of all, the unclean file was enourmous, I have to give up emailing it and ended up uploading it to yousendit (great service btw) so the client could fetch it himself. I realised that the file was so large bacuse of the TM - because when I wanted to extract the TM, it turns out that I have been using the same TM right from the beginning! I thought I had created a new TM with every new translation, but no, it has been saving in one TM only. I enver managed to extract the TM, but it did seem that it came with the unclean file, so my client got my one large TM in the bargain

Anyone know why that is? I have been reading through the manual and I can't work out what I am doing wrong. The only thing I can think of is that I am still using the trial version (for some reason it's still valid and I have just been too lazy to buy it..).

So basically I am asking for help setting up separate TMs for each project and also I would like to extract individual TMs from the one TM I have been using so far.
Collapse

Natalie
Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 17:51
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...