Local time: 13:56
Member (2012)
English to French
+ ...
Feb 12, 2014

Dear colleagues,

I would like to have an idea bout the rates for Video Remote Interpreting, VRI

My name is Mireille Agbossoumonde
I am new to VRI even though I have been interpreting over-the phone, OPI for over 4 years.

Thanks in advance for contributions
Mireille Agbossoumonde

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Russian to English
+ ...
Hi. Feb 13, 2014

I don't know where you live, but in the United States, you usually charge a 3 hour minimum, at a regular interpreting rate, like $50-$100/hr on average. If you provide your own equipment you can charge slightly more.

Adjo Agbossoumonde
Adjo Agbossoumonde
United States
Member (2012)
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
That's very helpful Feb 16, 2014

Hi Lilian,

Thank you for info. It's very helpful to know that it's the regular interpreting rate.

on the other hand, I am based in Atlanta, GA

Thanks again,
Mireille Agbossoumonde

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Russian to English
+ ...
Ok. You should use the rates popular in the US. Feb 16, 2014

I had the impression you were form France, only later I looked at the location. Good luck. Always charge a 3 hr minimum, though, because you have to book your time and often decline other ssignments.

[Edited at 2014-02-16 14:08 GMT]

Maria de Jesus
Maria de Jesus
United States
Video Remote Interpreting Sep 25, 2017

Hi,
I would like to ask what are the rates per minute for Healthcare VRInterpreting. I live in San Diego, Ca.
Thanks!
Maria

Getahun Arega

Magamed Aslanov
Magamed Aslanov  Identity Verified
Georgia
English to Russian
Rates for VRI Sep 28, 2017

Hello, everybody,

I have been contacted by expat company from overseas, exactly from Dubai for remote video interpreting. I was offered a flat rate of 25 USD per 40-45 minutes. The company said the will also provide me with translated scripts/subtitles. Is this rate realistic?