Thread poster: Sergei Oleinikov
Sergei Oleinikov
Sergei Oleinikov
Finland
Local time: 10:57
English to Russian
+ ...
Mar 27, 2020

I have cumulatively spent a few hours browsing Vero (the Finnish tax authority) and several on-topic websites, resulting in having some of my questions answered, but also raising new ones. Particularly, there's some blurring for me between freelancing and self-employment regulations. Finally, I decided to simply ask for advice from people with first hand experience. I would really appreciate it if someone were to answer a few of my questions. For clarity: I'm a resident of Finland, I have a Finn... See more
I have cumulatively spent a few hours browsing Vero (the Finnish tax authority) and several on-topic websites, resulting in having some of my questions answered, but also raising new ones. Particularly, there's some blurring for me between freelancing and self-employment regulations. Finally, I decided to simply ask for advice from people with first hand experience. I would really appreciate it if someone were to answer a few of my questions. For clarity: I'm a resident of Finland, I have a Finnish personal identification number and a tax card, but no Kela card. My questions so far:

1) I would need to order a "freelancer tax card" to replace my current one, correct?
2) Is registering for tax prepayment necessary or just optional?
3) Which forms exactly would I be using for reporting my income? I'm assuming different forms for domestic income and income from abroad?
4) What are the implications of registering for VAT once you hit the earnings threshold, does it change the structure of your operation in any way other than you having to charge VAT for your services where applicable?

I would like to thank everyone for your advice in advance! I would likely be forced to work through an invoicing firm if I don't figure this out.
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 08:57
Member (2007)
English
+ ...