Eun Byul Shin
Eun Byul Shin
South Korea
Local time: 23:40
English to Korean
+ ...
Apr 6, 2020

Hi,

I'm a newbie who just started working as a freelancer for an international subtitle translation company for streaming services. Recently I've received an email from a company that offered me to work as a transcriptionist for a 100-hr healthcare video and they said their budget is 28 USD/hr (I believe this is an audio hour)

I am unsure whether this rate is a sufficient amount compared to the average rate

Never done a transcription job before and so I ha
... See more
Hi,

I'm a newbie who just started working as a freelancer for an international subtitle translation company for streaming services. Recently I've received an email from a company that offered me to work as a transcriptionist for a 100-hr healthcare video and they said their budget is 28 USD/hr (I believe this is an audio hour)

I am unsure whether this rate is a sufficient amount compared to the average rate

Never done a transcription job before and so I have no idea if I should be taking this job or not. Wondering if anyone could give an idea ???

[Edited at 2020-04-06 15:29 GMT]
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 15:40
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Ideas for monolingual transcription rates Apr 6, 2020

Eun Byul Shin wrote:
Recently I've received an email from a company that offered me to work as a transcriptionist for a 100-hr healthcare video and they said their budget is 28 USD/hr (I believe this is an audio hour)

Never done a transcription job before and so I have no idea if I should be taking this job or not. Wondering if anyone could give an idea ???

100 hours??? That really isn't something to cut your teeth on! That's an enormous job!