Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Agency tries to impose SDL calculation method to calculate project fee.
Thread poster: Vincent Lemma
Vincent Lemma
Vincent Lemma  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 01:29
Italian to English
+ ...
Jul 24, 2020

Hello all,
After many long years as a translator I came across something new regarding translation fees.
A new agency uses what is called, at least in their words, the "SDL method" to calculate the project fee.
They basically calculate everything into Italian "cartelle" which is a total of 1500 characters including spaces, and then pay per this unit.
The oddity is that they speak of it as it is the "right" method, which after 19 years in the business I know to be false as
... See more
Hello all,
After many long years as a translator I came across something new regarding translation fees.
A new agency uses what is called, at least in their words, the "SDL method" to calculate the project fee.
They basically calculate everything into Italian "cartelle" which is a total of 1500 characters including spaces, and then pay per this unit.
The oddity is that they speak of it as it is the "right" method, which after 19 years in the business I know to be false as their is no one standard of calculating fees.

I normally charge per word, which varies depending on the turnaround requested, topic, complexity, PDF and numerous other issues.
Generally, I treat all clients very well, and offer honest rates and excellent quality and quick turnarounds.

The funny thing is that the agency had written via email that is discusses a lump sum for each project, which is fine for me, but their fees are on the low side, more suited for rookies who lack years of knowledge (no offense).

I offered a lower rate for the first job assigned to me, and now they have come out and told me that the method they use is the right method.
Even if this were true, the fact remains that fees are still low.