Discussion for ProZ.com 2016 virtual conference for International Translation Day session (2016): Find direct clients and run a business that you love

This discussion belongs to ProZ.com's Virtual Conferences » "Discussion for ProZ.com 2016 virtual conference for International Translation Day session (2016): Find direct clients and run a business that you love".
You can see the ProZ.com's virtual conferences page and participate in this discussion from there.

Elsatrans17
Elsatrans17  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 16:49
English to French
+ ...
Finding a more lucrative and rewarding way of working Sep 6, 2016

Hello,
I'm a new freelancer, and I have no idea what type of companies I could contact to find direct clients. I know they are hard to find, and those I have contacted in my area were not interested.

Octavio Armendariz
Octavio Armendariz  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:49
French to English
+ ...
Potential contacts Sep 6, 2016

Hi,

If you have legal experience or parallel training other than a translation degree, like a licence en droit, you could contact the law firms in your area or in the Paris area. They have plenty of work, but they mainly work with agencies I might warn. Another tip, is to contact businesses in the CAC40. There is a list of them in L'Expansion. I know it is hard. It is hard to determine what department to contact. Departments to contact include the communications department, the inve
... See more
Hi,