Thread poster: Cydney Miazga
Cydney Miazga
Cydney Miazga
United States
Local time: 03:17
Spanish to English
Feb 19, 2020

Hello All,

I am quite new to the platform so my apologies if this is common knowledge. I am looking for advice here on accepting my first job through proz... Is it normal for a client to forgo job submission through proz and just send the document via a hotmail account? Is there anyway to ask for proof of validity without insulting the client? He is offering to pay via a cashier's check. Does this strike a chord with anyone?

Thank you all in advance,
Cydney Miazga

James Heppe-Smith
James Heppe-Smith  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 10:17
German to English

Scam... Feb 19, 2020

Moved the post to the scam section, it certainly sounds like it is one to me.

Was the job posted on Proz? Or did the person contact you directly?

Proz staff may be able to assist if the job was posted here, would suggest reporting to them.

James

DZiW (X)
Angie Garbarino
Dayana González Sanchidrián
Liviu-Lee Roth
Sheila Wilson
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
ahartje

Cydney Miazga
Cydney Miazga
United States
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you for moving Feb 19, 2020

Thank you for moving my post to the right spot.

The email came in as "[Name] via ProZ.com" and the subject line "[ProZ.com mail] Service needed.......Spanish to English"

However the requester is using a gmail account. I cannot find the job in the ProZ job search area though. Thank you for the advice, I will reach out to the ProZ Staff where I can provide the individual's details in a private manner.

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 07:17
Danish to English
+ ...
Scam Feb 19, 2020

Classic scam. Don't reply and certainly don't accept.

The forums are full of similar cheque scam reports.