Warning: NDA signature forged by a company that emailed me through ProZ
Thread poster: Kristjan Rohde
Kristjan Rohde
Kristjan Rohde
Canada
Local time: 13:55
Japanese to English
May 13, 2020

Hello, I'm brand new to ProZ, so I apologize in advance if this topic is in the wrong place.
I would have posted about this experience on the Blue Board, but since I never got to the point of completing work with the company in question, it appears that I cannot. As such, it was recommended by another translator that I post here.

On April 10th, I received an email via ProZ from a language solutions company (henceforth referred to as "Company") about openings for a transcriptio
... See more
Hello, I'm brand new to ProZ, so I apologize in advance if this topic is in the wrong place.
I would have posted about this experience on the Blue Board, but since I never got to the point of completing work with the company in question, it appears that I cannot. As such, it was recommended by another translator that I post here.

On April 10th, I received an email via ProZ from a language solutions company (henceforth referred to as "Company") about openings for a transcription project.
At the time I was not a ProZ member, and as such could only see the base rating of the Company on the Blue Board. Had I been able to read the entries at the time, I most likely would have deleted the email then and there, but I digress. I have very little professional experience with translation/transcription, and even less with the companies in these fields, so regardless of the rating I could see, I felt that an opportunity to earn money was better than none at all.

Following completion of the Company's application form, I was contacted by a resource manager and the details of the project were confirmed, including payment, which I came to understand was extremely low based on discussion with other industry professionals.