How much should I charge for translation + market research?
Thread poster: Nestinar
Nestinar
Nestinar
Local time: 22:04
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
Jul 20, 2010

Hi all. I am Bulgarian and I've just moved to UK. I haven't worked here yet, but I just got offered a freelance job and I'm unsure how much should I charge for it.

Basically, I have some experience with the Bulgarian clothing market, so my client asked me to do a research for him - I'm supposed to end up with a list of Bulgarian clothing manufacturers that would be willing to work with my client who wants to import their production in the UK and sell it here. After the research is d
... See more
Hi all. I am Bulgarian and I've just moved to UK. I haven't worked here yet, but I just got offered a freelance job and I'm unsure how much should I charge for it.

Basically, I have some experience with the Bulgarian clothing market, so my client asked me to do a research for him - I'm supposed to end up with a list of Bulgarian clothing manufacturers that would be willing to work with my client who wants to import their production in the UK and sell it here. After the research is done, I'll have to help my client do the bargains, etc.

I already got idea how should I charge for my translation work when my client already has the list of possible partners, but I'm unsure how much should I ask for the research itself - I don't want to undervalue my work, but I also wouldn't like to offend my client offering too high price for it.

With my knowledge of the market and my contacts in Bulgaria, I presume the research would not take me more than two weeks.

Please advice me how much should I charge my client for this. Thanks in advance.
Collapse

Katalin Horváth McClure
Katalin Horváth McClure  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:04
Member (2002)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
How much is your time worth? Jul 21, 2010