Thread poster: ClaireM85
ClaireM85
ClaireM85
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:53
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 29, 2011

I would like to start working as a freelancer in the UK and was wondering if anyone could give me some helpful advice about the tax side of things? I currently work as a language teacher under the PAYE system and will probably continue this part time. I heard that you can earn up to £6K a year without paying tax - is this still the case if I have another income? Would I just be taxed on my first income? Any advice is much appreciated.

Gillian Searl
Gillian Searl  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
German to English
The threshold is higher: Apr 30, 2011

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/rates/it.htm

Just under £7500.

Once you go self-employed you have to register with HMRC. You will pay tax on the self-employed income through a tax return. At that point you will get adjustments for tax y
... See more
http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/rates/it.htm

Just under £7500.

Once you go self-employed you have to register with HMRC. You will pay tax on the self-employed income through a tax return. At that point you will get adjustments for tax you have paid under the PAYE scheme. http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/incometax/starting-work.htm#6

Gillian
Collapse

Liz Dexter (was Broomfield)
Liz Dexter (was Broomfield)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
Worth going on the HMRC becoming self-employed course May 1, 2011

Hi there,

I started my business while I was employed full-time, and I found it useful to go on the HMRC course "Becoming self-employed", which told me about all the things I needed to do, records I needed to keep, etc. They ran mine at my local city library in their business section. It was great, and really helpful.

Also, if you're planning to make less than £5000 profit, get a Certificate of Small Earnings as you are exempt from certain National Insurance then - a
... See more
Hi there,