Joanna Fox
Joanna Fox  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:38
German to English
+ ...
Sep 22, 2011

Hi there,
I am in the throes of starting up as a freelance translator and am planning to buy my own Trados license. I just wanted to see whether anyone has any experience of claiming back a Trados purchase on tax and how this works? I am fairly new to all of this, and have just signed up for a HMRC course which should hopefully make things a little clearer, but it would be good to get some advice/reassurance from anyone with more experience.
Many thanks in advance.

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
HMRC Sep 22, 2011

Hi Joanna

Yes, of course you should write it down as a deductible business expense, since your only reason for purchasing it is to assist in your work as a translator.

HOWEVER:

Under current rules (which tend to change every year) computer software is one of the items that are considered not as business expenses but as capital assets whose cost cannot be completely deducted in the one tax year but must be added to your assets pool and then partly deducted a
... See more
Hi Joanna

Yes, of course you should write it down as a deductible business expense, since your only reason for purchasing it is to assist in your work as a translator.

HOWEVER:

Under current rules (which tend to change every year) computer software is one of the items that are considered not as business expenses but as capital assets whose cost cannot be completely deducted in the one tax year but must be added to your assets pool and then partly deducted along with everything else in your pool.

But year on year, what can be deducted and how tends to vary. Perhaps you should clarify this by consulting an accountant. If you happen to be in London I can recommend an excellent one. If so, msg me privately.

[Edited at 2011-09-22 11:15 GMT]
Collapse

Joanna Fox
Joanna Fox  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
German to English
+ ...