Silvia Vaquero
Silvia Vaquero
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:59
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 30, 2014

Hi there,

I have a degree in Translation and Interpreting granted by a Spanish University which automatically entitles me to work as a certified translator. However, I haven't done any certified translations since I finished my degree a couple of years ago. I've been living in the UK since around that time and now I may have the opportunity to get some certified translation work.

My friend's boss needs him to provide him with a translated version of his syllabus, I am n
... See more
Hi there,

I have a degree in Translation and Interpreting granted by a Spanish University which automatically entitles me to work as a certified translator. However, I haven't done any certified translations since I finished my degree a couple of years ago. I've been living in the UK since around that time and now I may have the opportunity to get some certified translation work.

My friend's boss needs him to provide him with a translated version of his syllabus, I am not aware for what purposes. They think it will need to be a certified translation, but after doing some research it seems that there is no such thing as officially recognised "Certified translators" in this country. I would really like to get started on this but I hardly know where to begin. I'm expecting to receive a scanned copy of the syllabus so that I can provide them with a quote, but it will all depend on whether I am actually authorised to do a certified translation or else in the UK there is no difference between that and a regular translation.

In case there is, I'd really appreciate some guidance on standard fees. Also I don't know to what extent I would be legally responsible for the translation.

Thank you very much in advance.

Silvia
Collapse

Annie Rigler
Annie Rigler  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2010)
English to French
Certified Translation in the UK Jul 1, 2014

Hi Silvia