Is Translation subjective -an art or a science?
Thread poster: marijaflora
marijaflora
marijaflora
Australia
Local time: 22:17
Bosnian to English
+ ...
Jun 6, 2020

As a student, I am wondering if anyone can share their opinion on:

- is translation subjective?
I guess, literal translation is objective. But when clients order non-literal translations, does client satisfaction depend on whether the client like the translators personal style or not?

- with the advent and continuing expansion of AI translation tool, as professional translators do you feel the need to further adapt your translations?
For example, I think som
... See more
As a student, I am wondering if anyone can share their opinion on:

- is translation subjective?
I guess, literal translation is objective. But when clients order non-literal translations, does client satisfaction depend on whether the client like the translators personal style or not?

- with the advent and continuing expansion of AI translation tool, as professional translators do you feel the need to further adapt your translations?
For example, I think some clients are under the impression that machine translation is always bad and wrong vs human translation is always correct.
But realistically, machine translation's such as google translate can get it right often too.

Would it perhaps be better if clients instead thought of it as something along the lines of machine translation = 60 % correct, while human translation equals 90% correct?

With this in mind, when a professional translators translation matches the same words as a machine translation for some passages because they are both right, do you feel the need to reword it in case clients accuses you of using AI translation or do you just leave it as is?

Collapse

Kay-Viktor Stegemann
Kay-Viktor Stegemann
Germany
Local time: 12:17
English to German
In memoriam
Translation is a tool for a purpose Jun 6, 2020