Normal salary range for translators in Montreal?
Thread poster: Jenna Khamis
Jenna Khamis
Jenna Khamis
Canada
French to English
+ ...
Aug 4, 2021

Hi,

I've been living in Switzerland for the past four years and am returning to Montreal, so I'm a little out of touch with the translation market in Canada. A lot of the translator jobs (FR-EN) I am applying to are asking for an estimated annual salary. I am just finishing a master's in specialized FR-EN translation, I have a bachelor's in EN-FR translation, and I have about 5/6 years of translation experience altogether. I also plan to get certified within the next couple months.
... See more
Hi,

I've been living in Switzerland for the past four years and am returning to Montreal, so I'm a little out of touch with the translation market in Canada. A lot of the translator jobs (FR-EN) I am applying to are asking for an estimated annual salary. I am just finishing a master's in specialized FR-EN translation, I have a bachelor's in EN-FR translation, and I have about 5/6 years of translation experience altogether. I also plan to get certified within the next couple months. Any thoughts on what an acceptable salary range would be? Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance!

Jenna
Collapse

Nikki Scott-Despaigne
Nikki Scott-Despaigne  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:26
French to English
Suggestion Aug 7, 2021

I understand why this type of question is of interest. that's the obvious bit. Answering it usefully is much less obvious! It makes me think of the proverbial "How long is a piece of string?"

Qualifications, experience and knowledge will no doubt play a role. Experience that is marketable will include professional experience other than translation per se. If you know what you are talking about, if you have field experience of a given domain, then that will add points to any applicat
... See more