Farshad Sadoughian  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 12:33
Member (2021)
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
Sep 14, 2021

Hi there,

I'm on a post-graduation work permit in BC, Canada. I have a doctorate degree in dentistry, also 2 MAs in philosophy, the second one at a university in Canada. However, I'm looking for a job as a translator. I've been translated for years, medical, humanities, political, ... texts, but mostly for my passion. However, I've been a paid translator for an American chess website for 6 years. Also recently, I translated a scholarly paper on Kafka for a publication agency in my c
... See more
Hi there,

I'm on a post-graduation work permit in BC, Canada. I have a doctorate degree in dentistry, also 2 MAs in philosophy, the second one at a university in Canada. However, I'm looking for a job as a translator. I've been translated for years, medical, humanities, political, ... texts, but mostly for my passion. However, I've been a paid translator for an American chess website for 6 years. Also recently, I translated a scholarly paper on Kafka for a publication agency in my country.

If I'm not wrong, in order to get the Permanent Residency, my clients should be Canadian. And I guess, considering my DDS degree, medical translation gives me better opportunities. Any idea and suggestions on how I can connect to Canadian translation agencies? I only want and need to do test translations, the rest should be fine!

Also, do you think doing translation for Canadian charity is a good idea? Do I need that?

Thanks in advance,
Farshad
Collapse

Tina Vonhof (X)
Tina Vonhof (X)
Canada
Local time: 13:33
Dutch to English
+ ...
Some suggestions Sep 15, 2021