How to stop unsolicited applications from freelance translators
Thread poster: Andy S
Andy S
Andy S
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:14
German to English
Nov 16, 2012

I am a freelance translator and also run a small outsourcing operation.

All year I have been deluged with unsolicited applications from freelance translators. A few are welcome as they are in language pairs I might require, but the vast majority are not.

I would like to stop this flow and have managed to obtain some information as the source.

Three sources have been named but all deny that any reference to my agency was ever posted on their site. The la
... See more

All year I have been deluged with unsolicited applications from freelance translators. A few are welcome as they are in language pairs I might require, but the vast majority are not.

I would like to stop this flow and have managed to obtain some information as the source.

Three sources have been named but all deny that any reference to my agency was ever posted on their site. The latest applicants mentioned a database of translation agencies which they bought from a well-known translation website, but the site concerned sent me a link to the database and we do not appear to be listed there.

I an wondering whether lists of translation agency e-mails are on sale somewhere, and how I might get myself removed.

Has anyone else had experience of this or heard of this, and/or have any idea how I can stop this nuisance?
Collapse

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Me too! Nov 16, 2012

I have been flooded with unsolicited applications. I keep the rare ones that might interest me in the future (we only work from and to European Portuguese) and delete immediately all the others.

Dusan Miljkovic
Dusan Miljkovic
Serbia
Local time: 17:14
English to Serbian
+ ...
My two cents Nov 16, 2012