Bart Pauly
Bart Pauly  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:17
English to Dutch
+ ...
Mar 1, 2016

Hi everybody,

I've recently been offered a subtitling project from English into Dutch, but I'm new in this business (I have experience in the field at student level). It are videos about extreme sports, and I have the following information:

- The script in English will be provided.

- It will be enough with Subtitle Workshop, EZTitles…

- Our videos are short, very entertaining and with no much text on it. Kindly be
... See more
Hi everybody,

I've recently been offered a subtitling project from English into Dutch, but I'm new in this business (I have experience in the field at student level). It are videos about extreme sports, and I have the following information:

- The script in English will be provided.

- It will be enough with Subtitle Workshop, EZTitles…

- Our videos are short, very entertaining and with no much text on it. Kindly be reminded that in this case the subtitles are already timecoded and that you just need to substitute the English text for the Dutch.

Does anyone have any idea what would be acceptable/unacceptable rates per minute?

Any help would be appreciated!

Many thanks,
Collapse

Victoria Britten
Victoria Britten  Identity Verified
France
French to English
+ ...
Acceptable rates are per subtitle Mar 1, 2016

- in principle - just so as you know. A feature film and a documentary will have nothing like the same number of subtitles per minute, for example. If your client doesn't know much about the business, they may not know that (though they should) and it might just be worth trying to push that angle. Either way, since you have some experience, ask to see the job, work out how long it will take you, add fifteen minutes for getting started, work out how much that would be at your usual hourly rate an... See more