Thread poster: Melina C.M.
Melina C.M.
Melina C.M.
Argentina
Local time: 12:28
English to Spanish
Aug 27, 2012

Hi everyone,

Im new to website localization and I started doing some research on how to go about it. To my surprise I found out that a lot of knowledge, skills and software are required. I´ve been reading many threads related to this topic but I couldn´t find anything such as:

1. What is the best tool to localize static websites?
2. What is the best tool to localize dynamic websites?
3. What project management tool can support any of the tools needed to go
... See more
Hi everyone,

Im new to website localization and I started doing some research on how to go about it. To my surprise I found out that a lot of knowledge, skills and software are required. I´ve been reading many threads related to this topic but I couldn´t find anything such as:

1. What is the best tool to localize static websites?
2. What is the best tool to localize dynamic websites?
3. What project management tool can support any of the tools needed to go about static and dynamic websites?

Any comments or ideas will be much appreciated!

Thank you!
Collapse

christela (X)
christela (X)
In short Aug 27, 2012

1. SDL Trados, Wordfast Pro, ... most recent CATs can be used to translate html.
As far as I know, POEdit and so on aren't used anymore.

2. Same thing. You will be given Excel, Word or txt files, you deliver in the same format. Just follow the webmaster's instructions, if you don't he cannot use the output in his CMS. It is very repetitive and sometimes boring: you are translating strings, you don't see the text as a whole.

3. In my opinion, these are totally diff
... See more
1. SDL Trados, Wordfast Pro, ... most recent CATs can be used to translate html.
As far as I know, POEdit and so on aren't used anymore.