Peter Motte
Peter Motte  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 18:08
Member (2009)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Feb 10

Some potential client, hererafter called the PC, asked me to do 10 000 to 12 000 words per day PEMT or the same amount for similar jobs.
Is that actually remotely possible? That is almost 50 pages a day.
Not to mention that I won't be full time working for them, as I'm a freelancer, and have to make sure that other clients, hereafter called OC's, also will have to be served.

Wolfgang Schoene
Wolfgang Schoene  Identity Verified
France
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...
I think Feb 10

Peter Motte wrote:

Some potential client, hererafter called the PC, asked me to do 10 000 to 12 000 words per day PEMT or the same amount for similar jobs.
Is that actually remotely possible? That is almost 50 pages a day.
Not to mention that I won't be full time working for them, as I'm a freelancer, and have to make sure that other clients, hereafter called OC's, also will have to be served.

...the answer is in the question ...

Angie Garbarino
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Christine Andersen
Lingua 5B
yam2u
P.L.F. Persio
expressisverbis

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Peter Feb 10

Peter Motte wrote:

It depends on the subject material and how good the machine translation is. Last month I had a job where I did 12 000 words PEMT in 5 hours, and I'm convinced that my translation was good. But it really, really, really depends. I've also had PEMT where I barely scratched 500 words per hour.

I gather from your comment that the client wants to determine your rate based on this speed.