dokupartner: Is it safe to accept an offer from them?
Persoa que publicou o fío: Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 07:37
Membro (2010)
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
Oct 1

I have received a job offer from the agency dokupartner (http://www.dokupartner.de) for a 22,000 word manual, but I don't find them registered on ProZ, and no entres on Blue Board. Is there anyone who has been in touch with them and know if they are a serious agency or if this may be a case of fraud?
Their contact person is Cristina Schmidt.

[Edited at 2026-10-01 09:35 GMT]


 
Lieven Malaise
Lieven Malaise  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 07:37
Membro (2020)
French to Dutch
+ ...
Depends Oct 1

The website "www.dokupartner.de" seems to be legit. But there's also "www.dokupartner.online" and that's probably a scam website, at least according to Gemini.

What email address did they use?


 
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 07:37
Membro (2010)
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
INICIO DE TEMA
email seems legit Oct 1

Büro Nord
Büro Süd
Christoph-Probst-Weg 4
Föhrenweg 19
20251 Hamburg
91785 Pleinfeld

Tel.: +49-40-611 35 300
Tel.: +49-9144-92 71 31

E-Mail: [email protected]
Web: http://www.dokupartner.de
Inhaber: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Fischer

The person cont
... See more
Büro Nord
Büro Süd
Christoph-Probst-Weg 4
Föhrenweg 19
20251 Hamburg
91785 Pleinfeld

Tel.: +49-40-611 35 300
Tel.: +49-9144-92 71 31

E-Mail: [email protected]
Web: http://www.dokupartner.de
Inhaber: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Fischer

The person contacting me, was Cristina Schmidt with the email [email protected]
At least she is not using gmail.com as email.
▲ Collapse


Lieven Malaise
 
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 06:37
Membro (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Roy Oct 1

A 22,000-word project as your first job for an agency you’ve never worked with before? It really does sound like a scam. I did a search using the name of your contact and the agency’s name, and it came up with zero answers. If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…

And yet

Website: OK
Address: OK
Telephone: OK
Email: OK

Maybe it's legit...


[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]


expressisverbis
Thayenga
Zea_Mays
Véronique Vanseveren
Philip Lees
 
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 07:37
Membro (2010)
English to Norwegian (Bokmal)
+ ...
INICIO DE TEMA
Thanks Oct 1

Thank you for the suggestion.

 
Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 07:37
Membro (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Always check Oct 1

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida wrote:

If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…



[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]


When you're in doubt, just follow 'Teresa's advice. This is what I have been doing when in doubt. Sometimes the person does work there, sometime s/he doesn't. Better safe than sorry.


Roy Oestensen
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
 
Gregor Trebec
Gregor Trebec
Slovenia
Local time: 07:37
English to Slovenian
+ ...
when in doubt, C4 Oct 1

It looks legit. She is using company's email. BUT 20.000 words as first assignement sounds realy strange, if not desperate.

 
Joakim Braun
Joakim Braun  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 07:37
German to Swedish
+ ...
Phone Oct 1

The old-fashioned way to confirm someone's identity is to phone them via the company switchboard or a phone number provided on the company's website (NOT whatever is given in the e-mail).

The company can still turn out to be a non-payer, but a lot of obvious scams are filtered out.

And look up the company financials - they will be published somewhere.

I'd definitely do both if 22,000 words from a new client are involved.


Daryo
Zea_Mays
 
Frank Zou
Frank Zou  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 13:37
Membro (2016)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Ask for prepayment 01:24

My suggestion is to ask for prepayment and staged payments as you submit parts of the translation. That way, you can be somewhat sure it's not a scam — especially if they're willing to pay in advance.

 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

Moderador(es) deste foro
Lucia Leszinsky[Call to this topic]

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

dokupartner: Is it safe to accept an offer from them?







Anycount & Translation Office 3000
Translation Office 3000

Translation Office 3000 is an advanced accounting tool for freelance translators and small agencies. TO3000 easily and seamlessly integrates with the business life of professional freelance translators.

More info »
Pastey
Your smart companion app

Pastey is an innovative desktop application that bridges the gap between human expertise and artificial intelligence. With intuitive keyboard shortcuts, Pastey transforms your source text into AI-powered draft translations.

Find out more »