Working on a corporate project designed for localization
Thread poster: Stephen Lang
Stephen Lang
Stephen Lang  Identity Verified
French to English
Jul 12, 2003

I am new to translating and have never done localization. I work as a programmer for a company that is starting to get an international presence and the project I am on is being desgined to be localized by putting all text that will appear on pages in a resource properties file and will be referenced on the page by a property label. To localize all that would be needed is then to create another properties file for the new language. This is cumbersome to develop because if means a lot of extra ... See more
I am new to translating and have never done localization. I work as a programmer for a company that is starting to get an international presence and the project I am on is being desgined to be localized by putting all text that will appear on pages in a resource properties file and will be referenced on the page by a property label. To localize all that would be needed is then to create another properties file for the new language. This is cumbersome to develop because if means a lot of extra typing up front. It seems from reading the forum that most translators doing localization are working with HTML pages and doing translations of text that exist on them. If anyone has ever worked with the system I have described (it is Java under IBM Websphere and is turning into a standard for designing apps that can be localized) I would be interested in hearing if you feel it is an improvement, if it saved time, etc.

Just for some info, I am trying to get started doing French-English translation part time, I have a DALF certification and have done some interpreting.
Collapse

Roberta Anderson
Roberta Anderson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 18:36
Member (2001)
English to Italian
+ ...
Pros: consistency, efficiency; Cons: lack of fluency, inappropriate style Jul 26, 2003

Hi, Stephen.