interlinguistic subtitling
Thread poster: Subtitling2016
Jan 9, 2016

Hi everyone,

I'm a new user and i need help.

I'm a student of translation and interpretation, and the topic of my thesis concerns the interlinguistic subtitling; in particular i will write a chapter on the (linguistic and technical) analysis of subtitling in several episodes of a tv series.
There are some things I would like to understand better, like the strategies used by a subtitler, that I have to use too during my technical analysis.
Could you give me
... See more
Hi everyone,

I'm a student of translation and interpretation, and the topic of my thesis concerns the interlinguistic subtitling; in particular i will write a chapter on the (linguistic and technical) analysis of subtitling in several episodes of a tv series.
There are some things I would like to understand better, like the strategies used by a subtitler, that I have to use too during my technical analysis.
Could you give me some advices on what kind of strategies I have to use and how dealing with the analysis in general?

Thanks to all of you.

[Modificato alle 2016-01-09 12:48 GMT]

[Modificato alle 2016-01-09 14:38 GMT]
Collapse

Max Deryagin
Max Deryagin  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 16:46
Member (2013)
English to Russian
- Jan 9, 2016

Subtitling2016 wrote:

Hi everyone,

Could you give me some advices on what kind of strategies I have to use and how dealing with the analysis in general?

Thanks to all of you.

Hi Subtitling2016,

The best person to ask this question is your thesis advisor. S/he will give you some guidance, as well as recommend relevant literature. I think the best course of action for you would be to do just that.

Miguel Carmona
Miguel Carmona  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:46
English to Spanish
... Jan 9, 2016

I do not do subtitling, but here are couple of reference works you may find useful, and probably already know.

The following is a doctoral thesis: