Help with research regarding crowdsourced text/subtitles translation
Autor wątku: gawronizm
gawronizm
gawronizm
Polska
Mar 29, 2015

Hello, lately I have been occupied with the topic of crowdsourcing in translations. Actually, I'm a 4th year student about to write my MA thesis in translation studies. I have a few problems and questions which I don't know whom to ask about really. For starters, I am not sure whether or not I have tackled a too ambitious topic. Theoretically speaking, crowdsourcing would have its roots in machine translations and this sort of stuff from which I could build up the theoretical part. However, I am... See more
Hello, lately I have been occupied with the topic of crowdsourcing in translations. Actually, I'm a 4th year student about to write my MA thesis in translation studies. I have a few problems and questions which I don't know whom to ask about really. For starters, I am not sure whether or not I have tackled a too ambitious topic. Theoretically speaking, crowdsourcing would have its roots in machine translations and this sort of stuff from which I could build up the theoretical part. However, I am not sure at all as to how to approach the empirical/research problem. As far as the material is concerned, I was thinking about taking the TED subtitles, which are translated by a crowd, and perhaps compare them or analize them in some way. The other option is submitting a certain piece of text to a crowdsourcing service like Duolingo and work on that. However, I am not exactly sure what I can compare or analize. I am looking for any suggestions or resources which could help me in narrowing the topic. I have skimmed through a few translation journals + google and not much is being written about crowdsourced translations so my question is: Do you know where I could find something inspiring? Any research papers would be great. I guess it is all for now, thank you for your time and answers.Collapse

Laura Messer
Laura Messer  Identity Verified