Problem with Unicode translation memories
Thread poster: Johnson Sumpio (X)
Johnson Sumpio (X)
Johnson Sumpio (X)
Local time: 18:38
Chinese to English
Apr 2, 2005

I am new to Wordfast. When I try to use Wordfast with a Chinese source doc loaded in MS Word, it says "The system does not support double-byte (DBCS): please use Unicode translation memories. Refer to manual." I can't find any information on how to access/install/use the "Unicode translation memories" in the manual.

I am using Wordfast 4.2 Build 43d and MS Office Word 2003 SP1 on an English WinXP Pro SP2 system. My wordprocessor can display Chinese characters.

How do I
... See more
I am new to Wordfast. When I try to use Wordfast with a Chinese source doc loaded in MS Word, it says "The system does not support double-byte (DBCS): please use Unicode translation memories. Refer to manual." I can't find any information on how to access/install/use the "Unicode translation memories" in the manual.

I am using Wordfast 4.2 Build 43d and MS Office Word 2003 SP1 on an English WinXP Pro SP2 system. My wordprocessor can display Chinese characters.

How do I proceed? Please help. Thanks in advance.
Collapse

Robert Tucker (X)
Robert Tucker (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:38
German to English
+ ...
DBCS Apr 2, 2005

I do not use a Microsoft O/S, Word or Wordfast myself, but have read some amount about Unicode formats elsewhere. In relation to your question, in the absence of more experienced advice, take a look at:

Q) What is a double byte character set (DBCS)?

at:
this page

16-bit languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean)

at:
<
... See more
I do not use a Microsoft O/S, Word or Wordfast myself, but have read some amount about Unicode formats elsewhere. In relation to your question, in the absence of more experienced advice, take a look at:

Q) What is a double byte character set (DBCS)?

at:
this page

16-bit languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean)

at: